Global Laudato Si’
Monthly Prayer Services

“Everything is interconnected, and this invites us to develop a spirituality of global solidarity” (LS 240)

As the coronavirus pandemic and the climate crisis rage on, now, more than ever, is the time for our global movement to come together.

Join this movement every first Friday of the month as we unite during a Global Laudato Si’ Prayer Service and listen to creation’s song, cry, and invitation.

These prayer services are opportunities for all of us to feel inspired and connected, and to support each other as this movement keeps working for climate justice and ecological conversion all over the world.

One continent will be featured each month. The rotating of hosts will give us all a chance to learn more about that part of the world as the music, creation’s song, and the cry of creation all will hail from the host region. The services also will feature guest speakers and an interactive prayer with movement members from every corner of the globe.

Now is the time for our movement to come together in solidarity for prayer and reflection. Now is our time to further develop our spirituality of global solidarity” and to unite as one global Catholic family working to solve the climate emergency.

Looking forward to seeing you there and praying with you!

CALENDAR

Date Hour Theme Guest Reflection Languages Host Region
August 7. 2020 9h00 New York – 16h00 Nairobi Transforming Peace Ann Mareka

Led in English. Available through Zoom in:

ES, PT, IT & FR

Africa
September 1. 2020 TBD Ecumenical Prayer Service for Season of Creation
October 2. 2020 TBD Season of Creation TBD Led in different languages Europe
November 6. 2020 TBD All Saints, All Souls TBD Led in English and other languages Asia Pacific/Oceania
December 4. 2020 TBD Advent TBD Led in English North America

 

JULY 3. 2020

Join us at 10h00 Quito – 17h00 Madrid

Host Region: Hispanoamerica & Spain
This prayer service will be held in Spanish and simultaneously translated to English, Portuguese, and Italian

Topic: San Joaquín & Santa Ana
The importance of the family in the eco-conversion of children with a look at the inter-generational value. We will reflect on how grandparents can be the most vulnerable members of the family in relation to the climate crisis.

Guest Reflection by: Joining us from Spain, Carlos Jesús Delgado.
Layman, happily married and father of two children. Episcopal coordinator of the Diocesan Commission of Integral Ecology and Vice President of the Diocesan Commission of Justice and Peace, both of the Archbishopric of Madrid (Spain). Coordinator of the Joint Orthodox-Catholic Commission for the preparation of the World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation in Madrid.

The original audio is in Spanish, for other languages please activate the automatic subtitles in Youtube.

AUGUST 7. 2020

Join us at 9h00 New York – 16h00 Nairobi – 8h00 Quito – 8h00 CDMX – 10h00 Buenos Aires – 15h00 Madrid – 15h00 Rome

Host Region: Africa
This prayer service will be held in English and simultaneously translated to Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and French.

Topic: Transforming Peace
Let us pray for peace and security in the entire world, for those suffering from extreme poverty, for the degradation of the environment and displacement of the people due to the pipelines being constructed in Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria and other parts of the world, for the Season of Creation, for the ongoing challenges along the Nile River with the building of the Grand Renaissance Dam, and for peaceful coexistence between human beings and wildlife.

Guest Reflection by: Ann Mareka