Joint Prayer Service in Assisi

August 30, 2018

To celebrate the day of prayer and open the Season of Creation, ecumenical leaders are holding a prayer service in Assisi, the city of St. Francis. Leaders from across Christian traditions will speak, including Fr. Bruno-Marie Duffé of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development.

Leaders have issued a joint declaration on the Season of Creation and next steps on the road to caring for creation. Their joint declaration is available here.

  • The two-day prayer service will be available on the YouTube channel of the Diocese of Assisi.
  • Please join us August 31, 5:30-9:00 PM Italy time, with a break 7:30-8:00. (That’s 11:30 New York, 10:30 Mexico City, 8:30 San Francisco–please see your local time here.)
  • Please join us September 1, 8:45-11:00 AM Italy time. (That’s 2:45 AM New York, 1:45 AM Mexico City, 11:45 PM August 31 San Francisco–please see your local time here.)

The list of participants is here and a flyer with more details is here.

The program for the two-day event is below, with all times being local to Assisi:

Friday August 31st, 2018

  • 17.00: Welcoming participants at Vescovado of Assisi
  • 17.30-19.30: The prayer’s first step at the Room of Renunciation, with the reflections of leaders
  • 20.00-21.00: The prayer’s second step at the Basilica of St. Clare, chapel of St. Damian

Saturday September 1st, 2018

  • 08.30: Pilgrims’ reception at the Room of Renunciation
  • 08.45-09.15: The prayer’s third step at the Shrine of Renunciation
  • 09.15: Start of the pilgrimage from Assisi to Gubbio, now in its 10th anniversary
  • 10.00-11.00 The prayer’s fourth step outside the Upper Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi,  Joint Ecumenical Declaration on Creation
  • 11.00: Sending the spirit of St. Francis to COP24

The Season of Creation is led by an ecumenical steering committee:

  • Act Alliance
  • ARocha
  • Anglican Communion Environmental Network
  • Christian Aid
  • Lausanne/WEA Creation Care Network
  • Lutheran World Federation
  • Global Catholic Climate Movement
  • World Council of Churches
  • World Communion for Reformed Churches
  • World Evangelical Alliance